Body Conflicts.

Standard

body

My body and I have been in a relationship for as long as I can remember – it wasn’t all smooth sailing! At first I wanted to exert my dominance – make it “tow the line”. After all my requests that it stay up most of the night, consume vast amounts of alcohol, co-operate in exuberant partying then be ready, bright and mentally tuned for college next day were surely reasonable?
But every so often it would rebel, refusing to do anything but burn up all my reserves of energy in a temper throwing fever, or gush them into the nearest toilet.
In later days I called a truce, (after all we’re playing on the same team aren’t we?) It became a “scratch my back” (with a healthy diet and eight hours of sleep) “and I’ll scratch yours” by supplying endless energy to chase around after a bunch of kids, deal with jet lag, foreign chimes and still have a little extra for fun activities.
I must admit my body was a good friend to me and has really gone the course resisting the overtures of horrid diseases and managing to remain a UK twelve (pretty much) in spite of my ferocious appetite.
When it began trying to get my attention with numbness and pins and needles I became concerned. Was our relationship nearing the end? Happily no. I found it the perfect gift – yoga! From the very first time it was “love at first session” as my body cried out in jubilation. “At last! This is just what I need!” Saggy shoulders straightened, blood and oxygen pulsed remorselessly through every vein forever alleviating those midnight tingles in my right arm and leg. Achy muscles sighed in contentment as they stretched and relaxed. My body was happy. It’s only fair after all, it doesn’t ask much.
Now I try to listen more, I’m not so bossy. When it says rest, I rest, when it gives me a hangover head for naughty night time snacks I wise up. We are a partnership now my body and I. It likes the sunshine, walks and bike rides even the occasional swim and if it’s being a bit grouchy a dash of yoga does the trick.

4 thoughts on “Body Conflicts.

    • I found it helped a lot (just the physical exercise type). It gets the blood and oxygen flowing all over, not to mention vastly improves flexibility and reduces aches and pains in time. If you’ve not tried it yet it’s worth a shot especially as you get older as you can keep it up at any age.

Leave a Reply

