Thoughts on “Make Love not War” get together Dusseldorf Germany

Standard

love not war

It won’t make a difference, nor the endless stream of petitions we sign. Even if a minor concession or victory is gained it’s as a drop in the ocean and the tide is coming in! We can only make it clear we personally want no part in this destruction.

No, I’m not a pessimist quite the opposite, but my heart cannot stand to look at another picture of a maimed or disfigured child. Only faith keeps hope alive.

I think Gayle Urwin (one of my favourite people) summed it up best when questioned whether he believed in the “end time”. He simply asked, whatever perspective you looked from, ecological, social, scientific etc. were things improving and getting better or rapidly getting worse. He didn’t need to say more.

Watching the news the question is no longer “can we turn this thing around?” as it was when I was young, more, “how long do we have left?” I don’t personally know anyone who believes things are going to improve long term, most prefer not to think about it.

People believe different things about the future, some specifics, (according to their religion), some in a general apocalypse of some kind ushering in a new age. There’s a grim black humour growing in much of literature, a fascination for the macabre – art reflects society.

For myself, though this story grows more gruesome and worrying by the day, I can partake of it without fear for I have sneaked a look at how it ends; the “author” will intervene!

How do you view the future?

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on “Make Love not War” get together Dusseldorf Germany

  1. I may be a pessimist, but I’ll knot be a fatalist.
    The paradox: Accidents happen, but there are no mishaps.
    Everything happens for a reason, some say.
    Tell that to the Malaysians. 2 planes down in 5 months time.
    Some might say, “God is punishing that country
    for reasons beyond our understanding.” Others might say,
    “This is your time to shine! Now, go help those folks!”

    Or like William Blake thinks,
    God knocks you on the head with a hammer,
    but here comes Jesus with the band-aids.

    Personally, I save my macabre stuff for Halloween. 😉

  2. I feel our mainstream news media focusing so much, percentage wise, on bad news doesn’t help, and even makes things worse. Not because things aren’t a mess. I know things are a mess. But we need to focus more on solutions, people who are doing good, working to make things better, rather than so much on the problems. I believe what we focus on gets bigger. More importantly, HOW we focus on problems makes a big difference. Can we turn things around? I don’t know. In the meantime, I don’t watch much news anymore, because it’s so toxic for me that it interferes with my efforts to do my part to try to make things better. We do what we can. Thanks for letting me share my thoughts.

    • Good thoughts! I totally agree about the news media there’s quite a toxic mix of “what sells” and political and social agendas similarly I also seldom what the news etc. Not because I don’t care but because I care too much and it becomes overwhelming. I think you are right that what we focus on tends to expand.
      Thanks for taking your time to share your thoughts on this, I appreciate it.
      There are so many good people in this world.

Leave a Reply

