The 60’s (Both of Them!)

Standard

hippies
The 60’s brought cataclysmic changes into my life. It was the time I ceased to try vainly to adhere to the “norms” to conform to be accepted, and began to live the life of that strange and wonderful person – myself. It spanned from my first grown up movie (the Beatles “hard Day’s Night”) watched with my mum as I was too young to go alone, to my entering into the fabulous new world of fine art and college degrees.
It entailed much smashing of stereotyped barriers (poor girls from council estates didn’t do that stuff) discovering and exploring whole new worlds of endless breathtaking vision formerly concealed from my eyes. It was a time of freedom, adventure, learning, and above all discovering others like myself.

Now all of that is long, long ago. I have entered another kind of “60’s” a time when my “batteries” don’t recharge like they used to, when even in retirement I have to pace myself. Once again the questions come. How do I want to invest the time remaining to me here?
Wild adventures no longer have the same appeal, besides I’ve done that. Yet, though my body has aged (and frequently reminds me of my limitations), my heart and spirit remain the same, looking for new challenges, new creations, wanting to wring the best from each day, to learn, to explore, to interact.
This is a new time of re evaluation, another new beginning.

The 60’s (Both of Them!)
The 60’s brought cataclysmic changes into my life. It was the time I ceased to try vainly to adhere to the “norms” to conform to be accepted, and began to live the life of that strange and wonderful person – myself. It spanned from my first grown up movie (the Beatles “hard Day’s Night”) watched with my mum as I was too young to go alone, to my entering into the fabulous new world of fine art and college degrees.
It entailed much smashing of stereotyped barriers (poor girls from council estates didn’t do that stuff) discovering and exploring whole new worlds of endless breathtaking vision formerly concealed from my eyes. It was a time of freedom, adventure, learning, and above all discovering others like myself.

Now all of that is long, long ago. I have entered another kind of “60’s” a time when my “batteries” don’t recharge like they used to, when even in retirement I have to pace myself. Once again the questions come. How do I want to invest the time remaining to me here?
Wild adventures no longer have the same appeal, besides I’ve done that. Yet, though my body has aged (and frequently reminds me of my limitations), my heart and spirit remain the same, looking for new challenges, new creations, wanting to wring the best from each day, to learn, to explore, to interact.
This is a new time of re evaluation, another new beginning.

3 thoughts on “The 60’s (Both of Them!)

  1. I believe our lives have been similar. Mine lived here in America. I like the perspective of your writing. The second 60’s are much less fun and definitely limiting for most of us. Happy Thanksgiving. Hugs, Barbara

    • And to you Barbara! Thanks for dropping by and for the reblog.
      I persuade myself that mature, long seasoned wine, (though partaken of in smaller quantities) has a deeper fuller flavour to each sip.

Leave a Reply

