It’s all in how I look at it.

Standard

spring outside

I’m battling frustration this weekend. Spring is coming with the warmest days yet (wonderful for early March!) Daffodils are blooming here and there and there’s an abundance of snow drops, primrose and tiny new buds. The lakes are calling, the sun is calling and I’m fettered inside.

The fun weekend I’d planned with my grandson, while his mum and step dad are away, came tumbling down on Thursday evening when it became clear he was coming down with flu. The usually effective doses of water, fruit and prayer, while ensuring a mild case, didn’t take it away completely.

So, here we are, the third day of him laying on my couch watching DVDs and occasionally playing I pad when his eyes are not sore. Thankfully he’s not suffering too much and is a cheerful little soul. Being nine now I can also nip quickly to the shops round the corner and pick up fruit and whatever he can manage to eat (he has a very sore throat poor thing). But… he does get lonesome and bored sometimes so I’ve spent hours  cuddled up watching movies with him. Now I do enjoy the odd movie now and then but I think my eyes are turning square and the sun outside is so very beckoning.

Still, I have one comfort. I too felt flu coming on when I woke Friday morning, but thank God the prayers worked for me and I’ve been fine and healthy (just a little more tired as my body builds up its immunity). When I look longingly out of the window I remind myself at least I’m not stuck on the couch!

2 thoughts on “It’s all in how I look at it.

  1. I hope your grandson feels well soon. I am glad you have company, Claire. After your daughter and her sons left for China, I thought it would have been difficult for you to be alone all over again (although I know you are used to it). You enjoy the movies ❤ happy woman's day to you and thank you for sharing your world with me.

    -Naima

    • Thanks for your kind thoughts and for dropping by Naima. He is doing a little better today but still not up and around. His mum gets back tomorrow night and I’m hoping he’ll be better by then.

Leave a Reply

