Life in the Slow Lane (or a case of sleeping sickness)

Standard

IMG_0023

I thought my life was pretty leisurely and laid back till I went to visit my sister in a country village near the historic beach town of Weymouth (famous for it’s sand and links to Georgian monarchs)

The adjustment began on the first evening when at 8pm. I simply couldn’t keep my eyes open. What a rude guest! (I generally sleep at about 12pm so this was highly unusual). I put it down to the fresh sea air. Little did I realize this was to be a constant problem each afternoon and evening (not to mention the resultant teasing from my brother in law who is 13 years older than me and perfectly immune to the disease!)

IMG_0049

Dorset is famed for it’s beautiful gardens and scenery. We had a coffee (tea for me of course) here to rest from our walk through the fields. Strange I don’t remember anyone tapping away on their phones and silent luls in the conversation seemed to be considered normal.

It being Easter there were special activities including a morning raid by pirates (stopping for a beer at the local pub of course) before the beachfront fight

IMG_0038

There was even a sailing ship to wonder round and look inside.

IMG_0028

IMG_0021

3 thoughts on “Life in the Slow Lane (or a case of sleeping sickness)

Leave a Reply

