Not sure what the cowboy as to do with this but… (Americans please enlighten me?)

Standard

responsibility

Saw this on a US friend’s FB page. Aside from the cowboy, this seemed equally valid for many places. I noted a comment saying “when you teach rights you get rebellion where you teach responsibility you get revival” (another interesting point.) I’m not sure I agree with the latter but I do feel that it’s a package deal, rights come along with responsibilities. Take the right to free speech and the “I am Charlie” campaign (don’t get me started on that one!) Or a right to vote, to free medical care, to make the 100’s of choices we make every day as free citizens.

I am very much a defender of “rights” and social justice. My grand father, an idealist, was one of the first trade unionists back in the time when such things were dangerous and illegal. Being an avid history student I’ve studied at length Britain’s slow painful path to obtain those “rights”.often written in blood or starvation by their advocates. I value such rights very highly, but I do feel with every one comes a responsibility to use them wisely and with love and compassion for others.

While I believe all should know their rights (otherwise the rich pray on the poor, the educated on the uneducated) there needs to be a much greater emphasis on individual responsibilities lest we spawn further “me first” generations.

What do you feel?

6 thoughts on “Not sure what the cowboy as to do with this but… (Americans please enlighten me?)

  1. I agree rights and responsibilities are a package — one doesn’t come without the other. A very thought provoking article. Thank you for sharing the quotes, Claire.

    -Naima

Leave a Reply

