Sometimes you can have your cake and eat it!

Standard

IMG_0099

Sometimes life amazes me. For a while I’ve been thinking how nice it would be to learn to sail but put it on the back burner as a bit of an extravagance. I happened to mention this to one of my fellow Tuesday walkers who told me of a charity that takes handicapped folks sailing and is presently desperate for helpers (she knows I’ve done lots of volunteer work in the past) and suggested I contact them.

I was instantly invited to a barbecue hosted by a bunch of great folks (all regular volunteers) who explained it doesn’t matter that I’m a total novice as they train you and welcomed me to come as often as I’m able (being also very appreciative of my help). So I can help others and learn to sail all in good company and ten minutes from my home.

Sometimes I feel like God’s spoilt pet!

6 thoughts on “Sometimes you can have your cake and eat it!

Leave a Reply

