Feminist or Feminine?

Standard

from July 2014

Song Bird Songs

suffragettes

A staunch woman’s lib. supporter in my teens, I was intent to do anything a man (or boy) could do from drinking whiskey to off-loading delivery trucks ( I was pretty good at it too!) There were lots of things to fight for back then in the 60’s, equal pay and opportunities were a far off dream and I was proud I gained my degree place in the “manly” art of sculpture against tough masculine competition.

Another movement began; strange they called themselves feminists as they seemed to want to copy or compete in male behavior. This caused me to question my feelings. I didn’t want to be a “dumb blond” or a second class citizen, but I also didn’t really want to be a man. Though I didn’t let on I rather enjoyed being courted with flowers and chocolate, to have gentlemen open doors and carry things for me…

View original post 143 more words

2 thoughts on “Feminist or Feminine?

  1. Equality is something we are born with that comes from God. We shouldn’t have to earn it by being what we aren’t. I am of the same generation and though, I don’t want to be treated the way my mom and aunts were treated, I don’t want to stop being feminine either. I think the fight should have focused on recognizing the equality of all including women but not on women becoming like men.

Leave a Reply

