I did it! I did it!

Standard

IMG_0099

I sailed solo around the lake for the first time ever yesterday together with my “special sailor” a sweet handicapped girl (daughter of one of the other volunteers). We kept the wind all the way and despite a few near things neither got grounded in the shallows nor collided with other boats (the boats are specially made not to capsize etc. – UK health and safety are stringent!).

I can sail! I can sail! Of course I’m still a total novice but it seemed so bewildering at first with all the ropes and rudder etc. I wondered if I’d ever manage it. It’s a wonderful feeling sensing the lift of the wind as you catch it, a little like flying, so much fun!

(who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks!)

7 thoughts on “I did it! I did it!

  1. Congratulations. Do I see a new form of passion (sailing) entering your life? I get very excited when I see people pursuing activities that improve the quality of living. Thank you for energizing my morning!

Leave a Reply

