how far does our love go?

Standard

child

Like many others my heart is wrenched by more and more news of Middle East refugees, of drowned toddlers and forsaken Afghan interpreters.

What can be the solution I wonder?

I’ve worked with refugees and know first hand the pain and suffering, the tales of terror they escaped from, on the other hand I also know how overstretched the system is already here in the UK, how can we take more and how can the system be changed to be more fair to those in genuine need?

An answer came from a surprising source. This morning my daughter and I were discussing Iceland (she visited friends there for two months in her teens) how they made such a remarkable recovery from financial melt down etc.

Checking my face book feed I came across another Icelandic classic, 11,000 Icelandic people have offered to open their homes to Syrian refugees and help them get set up in return for the government upping its present refugee quotas and supplying the paperwork etc. – practical compassion. No wonder Iceland can perform such economic miracles!

3 thoughts on “how far does our love go?

Leave a Reply

