And I will sing!

Standard

hate

My defiance takes a different note,

“They” want me to fear

So I will choose love not hate,

For only love casts out fear.

“They” want to manipulate my mind just as they manipulated the killers.

No go! I have free choice, I choose good, not evil.

“They” want me to cower, to become afraid to voice my own faith,

I choose instead to confirm my faith in a God of love,

The only one able to deal with “them”.

“They” cannot be “bombed out of existence”

Like the hydra “they” will only grow more heads.

Like chemo or radiation, that may give temporary reprieve, (while creating devastation) but it will not destroy the “stem cells”.

The real perpetrators lurk unseen in the shadows and the “cancer” will spread and grow again,

We see only the pawns in their diabolical power game.

Yet I will sing,

For God himself plays against “them” and is able to heal anything.

Limited by His gifts to us, of free choice, and earth’s dominion, He yet holds the end game.

Though I foresee escalation, destruction and hate,

I will love.

Though political idiots undermine our UK police forces (who protect us) with crippling budget cuts, while buying nuclear armaments,

I will trust.

While media are no longer free to print the truth,

I will seek it and speak it.

While orphans wail, and children lay in pools of blood,

While Paris is but the tip of the iceberg, and other nations experience such horrors on a daily basis,

I will continue to believe in the flame of good in humanity.

This is my defiance.

I will love, I will seek the truth behind the lies I’m fed, I will not be manipulated.

I will choose to see the good, the stories of courage, humanity, and compassion that remind me that man was made in the image of God, a God of love,

And I will sing my defiance!

helpers

24 thoughts on “And I will sing!

  1. Dear Claire, Thank you for interested in my stories. I’m touched to see you dug to the ” Beginning of the story” I’m sorry that must cause you a lot of time to get there. I wish I knew how to program, then you can easily read from beginning to where I posted now……………..
    it is not that easy for an 80 year old to catch up with the new technology. But I’m wiling to learn if there is a chance.

    • Thankfully the link came up as an option below the part I read so of course I was curious to see how it began. I enjoy the oriental flavour of the story as I spent many, many years in the far east so for me it is like a taste of delightful memories. The fact you are interested to learn about technology shows in spite of your eighty years your heart is still young.

Leave a Reply

