Stop and look at the stars.

Standard

My father was always trying to get me to look at the stars with him, but as a child I found them just too big and scary. Now I understand. Sometimes you just need to stop and realise your own insignificance, that the world will continue to turn if you just stop and rest.

This quote picture really spoke to my heart. I’ve been very busy and burdened of late. I didn’t realise till I entered the end rest of my yoga class (something I’ve skipped the last two weeks) just how stressed I’d been. The world wide refugee situation etc. has been much on my mind. Then there’s my sweet personal “refugees” – my daughter and her 3 year old who’ve been staying with me since August, having finally decided Mexico was just too dangerous for their family. They’ve had more than their share of battles, sickness, finding a job/nursery, getting all the paper work organised and working on temper tantrums when daddy isn’t here to cope with it but instead translating for refugees in a bullet proof vest.

I was given the gift of empathy, to love, to care, which has been a great blessing both as a teacher and volunteer worker,but sometimes, if I don’t keep giving it up to Jesus, it can become overwhelming.

As I lay back and slipped into deep relaxation I pictured the clear starry heavens and peace encompassed my soul. God has this, I realised.

5 thoughts on “Stop and look at the stars.

  1. Thank you, Claire. Sometimes messages come along at just the right time. I have just come back from trying to explain to my Mum that we are coming to see her on Tuesday with a visitor, a care manager – and weathering the subsequent anger/tears/bewilderment. Sometimes you can only do your best, and then rest.

  2. Beautiful. Life can overwhelm us, and if we don’t stop and take a moment for us to recharge we find ourselves even more anxious. And God, where, oh where would we be without out Master! I thank God every day for molding me. There have been times I tried to fight His way. He simply picked me up and carried me.
    ☕️❤️

Leave a Reply

