I’m not really a kill joy, honest!

Standard

scared

I like to have fun as much as the rest, and have been known for some pretty zany antics (I rest my case on my affinity with teenagers and young people. Lol!) However, I find more and more a need to “draw the line” about some things. My latest being the encouragement to read/watch horror books/movies given to primary/secondary children by their teachers (and it seems UK national curriculums).

It began when I discovered a slip in my grandson’s bag saying, if his parents didn’t want him to watch the PG movie “A series of unfortunate events” please return the slip signed by tomorrow.

My hackles rose at that, because for sure it should be the other way round. Parents should be asked permission for them to watch, not given a last minute option to opt out – guaranteeing their child a very embarrassing time should they choose to do so.

Waving my “parental rights” banners I asked my younger daughter her opinion on the movie as I hadn’t seen it. She confirmed it was a bit weird and questionable.

My grandson said, “that one’s not so bad,” and proceeded to show me clips from  the movie “Correlina”   a book on his reading project that some of his friends had begun, then not wanted to read due to the gruesome text and pictures (I must add these two are the class “cool guys” not milksops).

I asked his mum about the book and she said she’d heard and told him not to read it. Seeing the content I was shocked. Why are schools promoting these things? No wonder so many kids turn out weird! My 17 year old granddaughter (who definitely comes under the “cool liberal” category) added that it’s worse in secondary school and 15/16 year olds are frequently shown 18+ horror and due to the curriculum have no choice to opt out.

When my kids were doing Eng. Lit. O levels I questioned why they chose such depressing books, (there’s so much good stuff!) but it seems it’s far worse now. Me, being me, a tactful letter went off to the head yesterday (tact works better than rant lol!) asking an explanation. (I noted she hastily phoned the parents before showing the movie – that point at least went home).

The book I suspect to be on a national reading list, but again, me being me, I’m considering doing some post-Christmas research as to what books are on these lists and maybe starting a few petitions that we choose more edifying material for our kids. Surely we want to give them the very best in put we can?

2 thoughts on “I’m not really a kill joy, honest!

  1. I appreciate your post today. I am less concerned with the topic (appropriateness of reading material) and more thankful for adults such as yourself for caring. Hopefully as more people “fill your shoes” in life demonstrating concern for the welfare of our children, the issue of appropriate reading material will become a non issue. As more and more parents take active roles in their children’s schooling and oversee school policy a curriculum will be established satisfying:
    1. the schools responsibility to provide a quality appropriate education
    2.the parent’s responsibility to assist their child gain an appropriate education
    3. the child’s responsibility to learn and grow as a result of a good education.
    I commend your efforts and appreciate you for caring.

    • thank you for your encouragement!
      Education can be such a wonderful field! I still think parents are the very best teachers as they give 1 to 1 attention and know the child best. So many abdicate this responsibility to the state nowadays – so sad. I find children tend to learn more outside school than in it (I know I did) the question is “what they are learning” lol! (but not really funny).

Leave a Reply

