Getting ready.

Standard

Time re-evaluate, plan and procure. My allotment was not so successful last year, due to neglect and various bug and blight attacks. Having more folks growing is great but it seems to mean there’s more chance to catch stuff (a bit like going to school).  My glorious tomato plants I’d taken such care with died a withered white death from one day to the next (along with everyone else’s) when blight hit the allotment. Even my improvised net curtaining (a tip from one of the experienced growers couldn’t totally keep the cabbage white caterpillars at bay, (a case of too little too late). Needless to say I no longer coo at cute white butterflies!

I must admit also the allotment suffered a good deal from my involvement with my daughter’s relocation (see “Boomerangs”). So this year, will I do better? I hope to, starting with some questions. Do I really want to grow brussels when they never seem to reach a practical size? Should I buy onion bulbs rather than seeds (I found that’s what the successful onion growers did,) My responsibilities should ease around March (just in time) so I have a good chance!

Do you grow some of your own food? It’s well worth it if you can. No need to worry about GMO or pesticides and the exercise in the fresh air will do both mind and body infinite good – especially if you have as nice a crowd of fellow allotment folks as I’m blessed with

 

8 thoughts on “Getting ready.

  1. Gardening is great on so many planes. Good exercise, good time to oneself, productive and meaningful and good for your health. It is something I would love to see more people partake in. It can even be done indoors for those concerned about space and cleanliness.

Leave a Reply

