God is far more concerned with who you’re becoming than where you’re going.

Standard

Even if not a believer it is a profound truth of life that what we are becoming is far more important than where we are going or what we are achieving.
I’ve found some of the toughest times in life have softened and molded my character transforming the arrogance and pride of my youth to more patience and compassion.
On stating that a very opinionated and argumentative family member reminded me of myself at that age. My youngest daughter, bless her heart, said, “but mum I can’t imagine you ever being like that.” I laughed, and said you’d never believe how much “tenderizing” it took to get me this far!
The secret of contentment in old age is being at peace with yourself, liking who you have become (even if we are none of us perfect.) No great achievement can satisfy if we cannot look to our heart with the peace of surrender.

6 thoughts on “God is far more concerned with who you’re becoming than where you’re going.

  1. Tenderizing ! I love that ☺
    I too have seen changes in myself over the years. I like by softer side, though every once in a while the old ‘type A’ me would push through if I feel strongly about something. But I’m learning to pick my battles and leave the rest to God.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

