Political Idiocy.

Standard

Sometimes the stupidity of politics outrages me (mostly as I suspect the people involved are not really stupid!)

i understand (though I don’t condone it) that the political/economic system is set up to serve the super rich elite (those fabled 1% who have the semi rich firmly in their pockets and forced to play their capitalistic games by “the rules”.) I know this is why they choose to slice the income of the incapacitated with one hand while giving tax breaks and subsidies to big corporations with the other. Even so some things make no sense at all.

Some examples:

1) Constantly upping retirement age. With a limited amount of jobs available someone is going to end up on benefits. Us old age pensioners are relatively cheap to keep, many have their own homes/ private pensions and no dependents (other than the odd dog or cat). A young to middle age man out of a job generally has a family to support and especially nowadays is caught in the trap of highly expensive private rental. Do the math! I know the young man may not be qualified to do the job early retirement would leave open, but the jobs would shuffle down the line to reach his level.

2) Having a minimum wage (a very good thing) but not making it obligatory for employers to pay it. Instead the government tops it up with benefits. Not only is this financial nonsense but its humiliating for those that need to claim it and tends to deplete self esteem needed to climb the ladder.

3) Selling council houses (they’ve been doing it since Margret Thatcher’s day) when there is an incredible shortage of housing available. Instead many hard working families in full time employment are forced to claim housing benefit in order to pay increasingly exorbitant rates to private landlords (for non UK folks a 2 bed apartment is usually at least £1250 per month where I live and that is not an expensive area  – definitely suburbia). Again do the the math – was it worth it to sell the council houses? Duh!

I could go on but I think you are getting the drift.

(I must add that I’m thankful that at least the social benefits safety net exists – We could be in a far worse system so I do count my blessings! – but some common sense could save money needed to sustain the NHS for example, which this government seems intent to sell to the highest bidder regardless of their integrity.)

 

7 thoughts on “Political Idiocy.

    • I wish, sadly by the time someone reaches parliament they tend to be already well incorporated in the system. Petitions etc. do seem to help though. That and social media exposure seems to have unhorsed Ian Duncan Smith.

  1. Thanks for this blog post regarding political idiocy; I really enjoyed it and am definitely recommending this blog to my friends and family. I’m a 15 year old with a blog on finance and economics at shreysfinanceblog.com, and would really appreciate it if you could read and comment on some of my articles, and perhaps follow, reblog and share some of my posts on social media. Thanks again for this fantastic post.

    • thanks for dropping by, so glad you enjoyed the post. I’ll be sure to drop by and check your your blog out (a pretty complex subject for a 15 year old – good for you!). I should state though that my political rants tend to be few and far between and economics is not my favorite subject so I doubt I’ll be sharing posts etc.

  2. If you think England’s politics are misguided, look at what we face today in the United States. We face inept politicians, a health care system few can afford and an economy with a minimum wage that hasn’t changed since July of 2009. The masses are beginning to show their dissatisfaction as they begin entertaining candidates without prior political experience and others looking to “revolutionize” changes to the current political structure.

    • Yes, I’m looking at the US political race with much trepidation. Europe at least tends to have more “safety nets”for which I’m very thankful.

Leave a Reply

