Press the pause button on life.

Standard

Sometimes we just need to press the pause button and stop to take in life.

This happened to me yesterday morning. My usual cycle back between the lakes was feeling tedious. I felt myself unconsciously pushing to “get it over with”. Something wasn’t right. The route is glorious and the trees were all decked in gleaming new foliage (even on a dreary day which this was). It had to be me.

Instead of hasting home to get started on that ever present “to do” list I pulled over by a bench, propped my bicycle and sat gazing out over the still waters. Starting to chill I watched the birds (expert chillers!)

There was a small splash in the water. A moor hen was diving for food. Only then I realized what my beleaguered senses had been oblivious to. There was a chick on the lake, the first I’d noticed that year. As I watched, fascinated, the mother passed her wriggling prize on to the baby. I sat contemplating as the mother tirelessly bobbed down again and again providing the chick with a hearty breakfast.

It slowly dawned on me – this was the real world, the continuing one. Oblivious to our petty dealings nature continues its timeless rituals, there’s such peace in that.

(I didn’t have my camera along but this bing photo will give a close idea.)

 

4 thoughts on “Press the pause button on life.

  1. It’s funny how we seem to need to feel overwhelmed by life before stepping back to “catch a second wind” before realizing how much of life is passing by unnoticed. This message will get your readers to think twice and appreciate this world a little more.
    Great job.

Leave a Reply

