Sixty + fun!

Standard

I had such an enjoyable day yesterday! (I’m a volunteer with a group that takes disabled people, sailing on the lake near where I live.)
First session, perfect sailing weather (sun and light wind) with a great “special” partner – a chatty young girl with a big smile, heaven!
Then adventure! As I took off a second time from the jetty, I noticed two big black clouds either side of the lake. All seemed fine till the wind picked up (prelude to heavy rain) gusting us mercilessly towards the shallow water . With visions of being stuck in the reeds while the safety boat removed their rudder to reach us and those black clouds rained down, I began to wave frantically.
The problem was my companion, joining in the “game”, began to wave also. The safety boat waved back happily, thinking “those guys are really having fun!” Eventually they got the point and came to drag us back to deep water and we all made it back before the skies opened. Everyone had a good laugh about that one!
Adventure over, sheltering from the rain, I sighed as I was assigned as helper on the safety boat.. (The safety boat is always the last on the water if it rains!)
Surprisingly instead of a drenching it turned out to be the funest time ever. Not only did the rain stop and the sun appear but, due to only two sailing boats (both with very expert crew members) to watch out for, the motor boats had nothing to do. Soon an impromptu “water fight” began between us and the patrol boat creating wakes to rock/splash each other, reeling and twirling like a fairground ride. I don’t know when I last screamed and shrieked with laughter so much! (amazing for all us 60 +ers.) Our boat “won” with never a drop of wash water reaching us (well the guy on the tiller was a retired sailing instructor lol!) The two “special sailors” watched from the sail boats laughing and enjoying the entertainment.
Sometimes I feel so young!

6 thoughts on “Sixty + fun!

  1. Thank you. Yes, life can be like wine and improve as it matures. I think fun can be an important element in the mix.
    The volunteers are a tremendous bunch and the older retirees (of which there are many) are certainly some of the the kindest and most fun loving folks I know.

    • Yes, we do. We have a special hoist and other equipment to regularly take people who come in wheelchairs. I even heard of one lady that used to come and learnt to sail solo using her mouth as she was paralised from the neck down. (The volunteers are not the only incredible people, the sailors are pretty cool too!)
      We’d love to take you if you live close enough to come (North East London). I’m sure there must be other groups in other places also. If there’s nothing at all near you I promise to take you in Heaven, you mustn’t miss out on this one!

Leave a Reply

