Time is a gift. How will you use yours?

Standard

Having to spend a lot of time sitting with my foot propped up, while being frustrating (I’m an active type), is slowly bringing me to realise I need to evaluate my time. My goal on retiring was to write.
In my youth I was given a message, in a mysterious encounter, that my destiny was to write. At the time I was an artist and thought they must have got it wrong, but as I’ve grown older the idea of using what I’d learnt in a very full and diverse life to help inspire others has grown.
Other goals have been slowly added, studying health, growing my own vegetables, yoga, exercise etc. Then there’s helping others, my children and grand-kids, and sailing with the disabled, for a while I even added being part of a local “green” group but that proved to be too much lol.
All these are good things, but a bit from an Andrew Womack audio kept ringing in my head. He said, if you have more than one goal your efforts get too diffused. He recalled many good causes he could have gotten involved with and had encouraged others in, but how he had to stick to that he felt he was ordained to do.
I pondered this at the time recalling another old saying, “don’t let doing what is good keep you from doing what is best.” but then I shrugged it off – mistake maybe?
Now apart from watching movies writing is the only thing I can do and I’m realising how unfocused I’d become, just fitting in a bit here and there between all the other stuff. Not that I can’t do these other things but that they should revolve around my writing not vise versa.
Maybe my temporary injury has a silver lining.
Much love to all you fellow writers and thank you all so much for all your concern and continuous encouragement! It’s so good to find so many others like me.

Leave a Reply

