Sometimes a story just gets a life of its own!

Standard

I’ve never been one to plan stories, it just doesn’t work that way for me (and it’s definitely no fun). Rather stories seem to grow and develop a life of their own. It’s as if the story is already out there somewhere and I’m just opening the window to set it free onto the page.

Don’t get me wrong I also suffer the inevitable “writer’s block” sometimes when the damn catch on the window seems jammed and the weather’s too dark and cloudy to even catch a glimpse through the pane. But then, sooner or later, it always loosens, the glass swings open and I’m invaded by the most inspiring scenes and ideas and I just can’t wait to get to my laptop.

My present book seems to be the most “revelatory” yet. New characters introduce themselves in my head as I wake, parading their own personal diversity. I ponder and realise how well they weave into the plot, adding depth and emotion, so that later I sit, tissues in hand when a plot twist reveals their demesne.  Research (tedious as it tends to be) brings to light plot options, small details, and opens me up to places I’ve not been before in my writing. I wake each morning as if seeking to continue reading a book I’m wrapped up in, but it isn’t written yet! Reading and writing become one, with an irresistible urge to turn the next page, start the next chapter. My “overactive imagination” as my teachers called it has found it’s niche.

I’ll miss it when it’s finished (except that when the real work begins, editing, revising, condensing etc.) However I already have a tittle for a possible sequel lol! Meanwhile I’m in danger of becoming a recluse!

9 thoughts on “Sometimes a story just gets a life of its own!

  1. Enjoy the entire experience. “Creating” is a gift that brings great joy to one’s life. You’re right, there is plenty of work left to do and many hours needed to do it. In the end, you will be blessed with your very own creation!

    • Thanks! Everyone has their creative urges. I suspect yours might have to do with re creating healthy, active bodies perhaps? What a great legacy that would be!

      • I certainly wouldn’t mind that being the end result, however, my main goal is to provide INFORMATION clearly and REALISTICALLY to help people decide for themselves the importance of re-creating healthy, active and highly functioning bodies and MINDS. A challenging task, but a legacy worth creating! 🙂

    • Ah yes! I do have the great blessing of being retired and all my children doing well thank God. It was my wish for many years to be free to write/paint/sculpt (as you said life intervenes) but it’s come at last. Perhaps that’s why the stories flow so fast, they’ve been growing away all this time lol! May your time also come one day. Meanwhile life has a way of giving you material and deeper understanding that will one day enhance your writing skills. Thanks for dropping by and taking time to comment. have a great day!

Leave a Reply

