Good morning America.

Standard

It was hard to see how this one could work out to the good. From an outside standpoint both candidates were manifestly not people I’d want to see with any kind of power let alone the US presidency (it seems many Americans felt much the same).

I must admit to a slight sigh of relief that at least the Putin/Clinton sabre rattling is not going to go into effect (we are too close for comfort!) What lies ahead for the US is uncertain. Many seem to have linked the Trump triumph to Brexit, but while the thought that voters just might have scored over the powers that run things behind the scenes, the comparison for me ends there.

As a Brexit voter I had solid political and economic reasons for my vote, I fear many may have voted for Trump to escape Clinton (that woman is pure evil!) Of course I don’t have the same understanding of the issues as an American, but for sure the world is a little more shaky this morning, but it could have been even worse I guess.

I took comfort in one of my US friends Face book post. It said. “Whoever is president God is King!”

12 thoughts on “Good morning America.

  1. I too was a Brexit voter and I too dislike being linked in any way to Trump. We voted to change our relationship with the EU and regain national sovereignty – not for a new Prime Minister. The equivalent of what has happened tonight would be for to vote in Simon Cowell or Victoria Beckham as Prime Minister.

    • Yes, my vote was primarily about national sovereignty too. I don’t think the two are in any way the same except that the one without the massive money/media backing won in both cases.

      • Yes, I did think of Sir Allan – as you say, the obvious Trump equivalent – but then I thought no, he’s irritating but not ridiculous enough. If it came to it, he might make quite a good Prime Minister. So I cast around for someone more ridiculous still… 🐮

  2. Alexander

    I think the connection between brexit and trump is strong.

    A huge part of the trump vote is rural america; generally lower income, similar to some of the brexit vote.

    A lot of those votes are from people struggling with financials and lack of opportunity.

    David Wong wrote an excellent post on cracked.com that I’d recommend.

    • I’m not sure about that parallel. In my local area ( a middle to upper class London suburb) I found most of my more educated/ business savy friends were for Brexit while the strong EU supporters tended to be the poorer, and or less informed. Nation wide I haven’t seen stats to support the view either (only media hype).
      The major divide on Brexit seemed to be more young and old which makes sense – the young tend to be swayed by media ( it was full of vitriolic anti Brexit stuff) and have been brought up as EU citizens where as older folks remember the history etc. tend to have more grasp on “the real world” and are very much concerned with retaining nation independence. I’ve heard the same thing again and again from Brexit folks, rich, poor and in between. Their main concern is we as individuals have no say in EU politics, we don’t vote them in. The older you are the more the war echoes with you. Most folks want to retain the hard fought right to effect policy by our votes. They showed that pretty clearly in Brexit.
      I think Trump could better be compared with the rise of the UKI. I saw a great article on this suggesting the Trump phenomenon has a lot more to do with folks rejection of “political correctness”. It proposes that they voted for him not because of his policies but because someone for once thumbed a nose at the liberal politically correct regime and their media buddies and didn’t care what they thought. While I couldn’t endorse someone like Trump for any reason, even I felt a slight smirk that the “Queen of evil” and her cohorts got a bump on the nose.

      • Alexander

        Hi Claire, I definitely agree that there isn’t a ‘one demographic’ or ‘one logic’ behind brexit, my thoughts were based on some discussions we had at work at the time, I remember some analysis (e.g. https://www.theguardian.com/news/datablog/2016/jun/24/the-areas-and-demographics-where-the-brexit-vote-was-won) – with talk of majority leave areas such as sunderland. But as you said; I also know some cases of older and wealthier ‘vote leave’ areas. I definitely do think that a lot of the leave vote was based around people feeling like they don’t have control over major decisions affecting their schooling, healthcare etc.

        I also totally love the point about political correctness, I think a lot of people can connect to the “I’m not another politician, it’s a dirty business.. yuck”.

        I’m not a trump supporter, but I definitely don’t like Hillary Clinton. I personally think that if Trump brings his business mindset and the ability to pick and use the right advisors he could make a good president. Let’s see what happens.

      • Thanks for all that in put. It seems we are on the same page about many things. I’ll try and follow the links later.
        I know part of it for me was anger and frustration at the media image portrayed of the dumb, racist, Brexit voter. I’ve worked for years as a volunteer both in and out of the UK, with refugees and asylum seekers so am anything but racist. I also really “did my homework” before voting so understandably I tend to shoot down this image quite vehemently lol!
        I’m also praying something good can come out of Trump’s term even if it’s only that the powers behind the scenes realise they can’t put up someone like Clinton and expect to win – that voters are alive and kicking! Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

