Small effort big pay back

Standard

Along with my resolution to just go ahead and do whatever strikes me (and stop procrastinating) I ventured down to the local swimming pool.
My lazy self was arguing all the way. “For God’s sake it’s January this is NOT the time to start swimming again!” Nonetheless, motivated by thoughts of several awful Christmas photos and the fact that my favourite coat is getting tight I stuffed towel and costume in my backpack and grabbed my bike.
The first two laps were tough, having to get my breath at either end (well it had been over a year!) Then it got easier. To my delight I managed my goal of ten laps before the session finished. More than that I felt great – warm, glowy and energized. In fact it felt so good I went back yesterday and added an extra lap to my total!
Sometimes I find that with my body, it really lets me know when it gets something it needed. The “happy feeling” continued the rest of the day and concluded in a good, deep night’s sleep. Sometimes that tiny push of effort makes all the difference!

One thought on “Small effort big pay back

Leave a Reply

