How could I be so dumb?

Standard

I’d been suffering for several days, angry and worried. You see the cleaners I hired to give my old apartment a professional clean (as per my contract requirement) were anything but professional. I could have done better myself (much better!) especially for the price. It didn’t meet with the inventory clerk’s approval either in spite of my going from room to room making them redo the worst of the stuff. Not only that but they left a mark on the carpet they were suposed to be cleaning, dumped a new tube of putty, my favourite mug and a Virgin hub that I may have to return. I’m being generous saying “dumped” maybe they were not just dumb but deliberately took the stuff.

It’s been keeping me awake wondering if I’ll need to pay to get it all redone or replace the hub etc. Worst of all my landlord is a really good guy and I wanted to leave it spotless.

I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Finally waking at 2am and immediately hitting the same old theme in my head, I tried everything but no luck. I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Then I realised what I needed to do – FORGIVE THEM! Problem solved – the few times it came to mind I said in my head, “I forgive them” why spoil my days (and nights)? It’s been several days now  I haven’t even given it a thought. Why didn’t I do that before – it’s such an old lesson.

4 thoughts on “How could I be so dumb?

  1. Alex

    I wasn’t sure what your final thought would be, but I agree forgiving rather than resenting people like this makes it easier to move forward.. After all if these people do such a bad job they are probably really unhappy…

    • Yes, I don’t think they were even badly intentioned just in the wrong profession maybe. Maybe they were desperate for the money to support their families (they were two Asian men rather than the usual women.)

Leave a Reply

